C-BEC staff, board members visit General Assembly


Shawn Hildebrand, CEO of Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative (left) and CBEC board member James Huffman (right) met with Delegate Chris Head’s staff during the Electric Cooperatives’ Legislative Day in Richmond on Jan. 23.

Staff and board members of Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative met with legislators on  Monday, Jan. 23 as part of the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives  (VMDAEC) quarterly board meeting and Legislative Day.

Attending were Board Chairman James E. Huffman and CEO Shawn C. Hildebrand. They joined more than 300 people attending VMDAEC’s annual event at the Omni Hotel, which included representatives of Virginia’s 13 member-owned electric cooperatives as well as government officials and legislative staff.

Following a breakfast reception at which Del. Jackson Miller received the Distinguished Friend of Electric Cooperatives Award, attendees spent the morning visiting with legislators and their aides in their Capitol Square offices, outlining the position of Virginia’s electric cooperatives on legislation being considered by the 2017 General Assembly.

Headquartered in New Castle, Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative (CBEC) provides power to more than 7,000 homes, farms and businesses in Craig, Botetourt, Alleghany, Montgomery, Giles and Roanoke counties in Virginia and portions of Monroe County, W.Va. For more information, visit www.cbec.coop.

more recommended stories

  • Sign up
Lost your password? Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.