Chamber welcomes new board of directors

By Aila Boyd 

The Botetourt County Chamber of Commerce held its annual Meeting of the Membership last Thursday at Virginia Mountain Vineyards in Fincastle. 

During the meeting, new members of the chamber’s board of directors were welcomed. 

The new board members include Titan America/Roanoke Cement’s Lindsey Layman, Keith Hartman, LLC’s Keith Hartman, Prestige Gymnastics’ Kaleigh Duffy, OpX Solutions’ Lois James, Spectrum Design’s Mike Rakes, Carilion Clinic’s Paul Hudgins, Old Republic Title’s Emily Bailey, Bank of Botetourt’s Kathy Caldwell, and Lawrence Companies’ Anna Moncure. All nine new members will serve until 2023. 

Layman, who now works as an environmental engineer, first learned about the cement manufacturing process when she took at job as Roanoke Cement’s chemical analyst following her graduation from Emory & Henry College.

As a lifelong resident of Botetourt County, I am excited to engage with my corporate neighbors and continuously improve the business community that helps make Botetourt County a great place to live, work and play,” she said.

Hartman has over 40 years of experience in leadership positions with small businesses and large public and private equity owned corporations. He previously held various leadership roles with Vistage Worldwide, an international peer advisory and personal development membership organization for senior leaders, and served as the director for the Roanoke Region Small Business Development Center.

I have always been an advocate for chambers, and the role that they play in building and strengthening communities. Being able to contribute to the health and well-being of the community in which I live is especially gratifying,” he said.

Duffy opened the family-oriented athletic center in Troutville when she was 18.

Being on the board of directors ties together my two favorite things, Botetourt County and small business. I’m excited to have this opportunity, and to be a part of a group that aids small businesses and gives them resources to help them flourish,” she said.

James, who works with organizations to increase productivity and efficiency, said, “Being on the board means being able to network with and meet new people, help advocate for all local businesses, bring educational opportunities to chamber members, and grow our chamber membership for the benefit of all involved.”

Rakes has worked as a practicing architect and engineer throughout Virginia for over 30 years. When asked what being on the board means to him, he said, “It means using whatever skills and contacts I can offer to help my fellow board/team make my Botetourt better and also discover some friendships along the way.” 

Hudgins serves as his company’s senior vice president and chief human resources officer. He said, “As a resident of Botetourt County, I am thrilled to serve on the board of the chamber and bring my executive and board experience to help the chamber’s continuing efforts to nurture the business environment in Botetourt County where businesses grow and thrive.” 

Bailey, who serves as a business development officer, travels between Charlottesville and Harrisonburg to develop new business for her company.

The opportunity to serve on the Board will allow me to work with other individuals who have the common goal of making the chamber one of the largest and brightest ‘faces’ of Botetourt County,” she said.

Caldwell, who has worked at Bank of Botetourt for 17 years, serves as a vice president/commercial loan officer. 

Moncure serves as a business development representative. At Lawrence Companies, she works with companies that currently have or are interested in starting employee relocation programs. She said, “I am excited to serve my ‘newish’ community by serving on the board. I look forward to learning more about Botetourt County and advocating for and supporting local business.” 

Chamber officers include Winter Storage’s Trevor Winter-Pierce, president, Boxley’s Melissa Wood, treasurer, Virginia Western Community College’s Amy White, vice president, and Roanoke Blacksburg Regional Airport’s Tim Bradshaw, president-elect. 

Other members of the board include Wiegandt & Doubles’ Mac Doubles, Dabney S. Lancaster Community College’s John Rainone, Botetourt County’s Ken McFadyen, Botetourt County Public Schools’ Mike Ketron, Little Creek Coral’s Tiphanie Rasnick, Edward Jones’ Josh Werle, Sunshine Services’ Lee Minnix, and The Bank of Fincastle’s Scott Steele.

more recommended stories