The Botetourt/Craig/Roanoke County USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) recognized FSA committee members for their dedicated years of service to the local area farmers.  Their service on the FSA County Committee (COC) is truly appreciated as the agency depends on their sound judgement in t   he decision making process for FSA programs, the news release said.

The Farm Service Agency recognized J. C. Winstead of Craig County for 10 years of service and who is currently serving as the 2017 vice chairperson. Carson L. King of Roanoke County was recognized for 35 years of service and serves as this year’s chairperson.

King recently presented Russell C. Anderson with a Certificate of Election for 2016. Anderson has begun his 35th year of service as a Botetourt County member for the Fincastle/Eagle Rock area.

Ann G. Harrell, COC advisor, was recently reappointed by the Virginia FSA State Committee to serve in this capacity for 2017. She begins her 20th year of service to FSA having served as a COC advisor and a COC member.

Ned B. Jeter II is the newest member of the county committee and was newly elected by his peers for 2017. Jeter has begun his first year of service with the Botetourt/Craig/Roanoke FSA County Committee representing the Amsterdam/Buchanan area.

William H. Stinnett of Buchanan has recently rotated off the county committee for 2017 having served his term limit of three three-year terms (nine consecutive years).  The committee recognized Stinnett’s many contributions and hours of dedication to the committee system having served the Farm Service Agency for 23 years.

The County Committee election this year will be held in Craig and Roanoke Counties.  Nominations will be accepted through August 1.  The new members will take office      January 1, 2018.

For more information on FSA elections, visit the FSA website at You may also contact your local USDA Service Center or FSA office.  Visit to find an FSA office near you.