The Botetourt/Craig/Roanoke FSA County Committee (COC) held its organizational meeting on January 19 and made the following elections for the 2017 calendar year:

Carson L. King, Chairperson (Roanoke County); J.C. Winstead, Vice Chairperson (Craig County); Russell C. Anderson, Regular Member (Botetourt County – Fincastle/Eagle Rock); Ned B. Jeter, Regular Member (Botetourt County – Amsterdam/Buchanan).

On February 23, the Virginia FSA State Committee approved Ann G. Harrell (Craig County) as the newly appointed COC Advisor for 2017. Mrs. Harrell’s responsibilities include assisting with FSA community outreach, working in public relations, and committee representation for underserved producers to ensure fair and equitable treatment.

The next County Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday, March 16, at 10 a.m. in the Bonsack USDA Service Center’s conference room. All County Committee regular session meetings are open to the public.