The Dabney S. Lancaster Community College Local Board has reinstituted the annual Medallion of Merit Award and is currently accepting nominations. The college stopped bestowing of the award in 2012, but at a recent board meeting, the local board voted to begin the recognition in 2019.

The Medallion of Merit was established in 1979 to recognize individuals or organizations that have made a significant contribution to the betterment of life to the world, nation, Commonwealth, region, or DSLCC’s service area.

Nomination forms are available through the President’s Office at DSLCC or on the college’s website at deadline for all nominations is Friday, May 3, by 3:30 p.m.

Examples of whom may receive this award include individuals or organizations have achieved success, assumed leadership and supported their communities in very different ways – all reflecting the purpose of Dabney S. Lancaster Community College.

Past recipients from Botetourt County included Senator Buzz Emick of Fincastle, Dr. Mary A. Thayer, G.C. Thompson Jr., Kathryn C. Buhrman, and Nadine Paxton Rankin.