The 2019 Virginia High School Hall of Fame, sponsored by the Virginia High School League (VHSL), welcomes its 10 newest members who have made outstanding contributions to high school athletic and activity programs. The 30thAnnual Hall of Fame induction dinner is this Sunday at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Charlottesville.

The Class of 2019 includes: five athletes (Billy Baber – Western Albemarle, Natalie Baird Etheridge – Park View-Sterling, Kenny Easley – Oscar Smith, Larry Stepney – Norview, Rebecca Wakefield-Snider – Woodbridge); three coaches (Jeffrey Custer – Christiansburg/Woodbridge/Gar-Field/Lake Braddock), Bill Dee – Southampton/ Phoebus/Oscar Smith, Lou Sorrentino – George Mason/Culpeper County/C.D. Hylton/Mountain View), and two contributors (Nancy Burke –George C. Marshall/South Lakes, Ernie Hicks – Richlands).

Tickets are $35 and can be purchased on-line:

Athletes are eligible for consideration 10 years after completion of their high school careers and are judged primarily for their achievements in interscholastic sports.  Coaches are eligible after 15 years of experience or upon retirement and are judged on the merits of their achievements at the high school level.  Contributors are professionals who have rendered significant services in some other capacity such as administration, academic activities, officiating, media or sports medicine.

Members of the Class of 2019 will bring total membership to 295.