Botetourt County and Director of Financial Services Tony Zerrilla have been awarded the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting by the Government Finance Officers Association (GFOA).

The Certificate of Achievement is the highest form of recognition in the area of governmental accounting and financial reporting, and its attainment represents a significant accomplishment by a government and its management. This is the twelfth consecutive year that Botetourt has won this award.

“The county’s Financial Services director and staff along with county administration, the Treasurer’s Office and School Board staff have always been committed to providing timely and accurate financial information and this award affirms and recognizes their efforts,” said Corbin Stone of Robinson Farmer Cox Associates, the county’s auditor. “Simply put, this award is well deserved.”

The GFOA established the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting Program (CAFR Program) in 1945 to encourage and assist state and local governments to go beyond the minimum requirements of generally accepted accounting principles to prepare comprehensive annual financial reports that evidence the spirit of transparency and full disclosure and then to recognize individual governments that succeed in achieving that goal. The goal of the program is not to assess the financial health of participating governments but rather to ensure that users of their financial statements have the information they need to do so themselves.

Botetourt’s 2016 Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (CAFR) has been judged by an impartial panel to meet the high standards of the program, including demonstrating a constructive “spirit of full disclosure” to clearly communicate its financial story and motivate potential users and user groups to read the CAFR.

“Finances impact every aspect of operations, and we want to make sure that our citizens have the best tools available to understand the vounty’s financial position,” Zerrilla said. “This award is a team effort and recognizes our efforts for transparent government.”