The DSLCC Educational Foundation has awarded 162 scholarships totaling nearly $160,000 to 124 area residents, including three graduating seniors from James River High School.  The students were presented their scholarships at the JRHS awards ceremony on May 14.

The JRHS scholarship recipients were Sarah Lam, Lumos Networks Scholarship; Elizabeth Rice, Bank of Botetourt, H. Watts Steger III Scholarship; and Naomi Wells, Ferguson Proffitt Nursing Scholarship. From left are Lois Switzer, Educational Foundation board member; Elizabeth Rice, Sarah Lam, and Michelle Crook, Foundation Board president. Not pictured: Naomi Wells.