Troutville Volunteer Fire Department held its annual banquet at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel on Saturday night where Cole Guidry received the award for 2016 Fireman of the Year.

Troutville Volunteer Fire Department held its annual banquet Saturday night, Jan. 21 at the Sheraton in Roanoke where the department presented a number of awards, including naming Cole Guidry Fireman of the Year.

Other awards went to:

  • Rookie of the Year: Justin Welch
  • Most Training Hours: Dylan Kiger
  • Top call runner: Joey Benes
  • Officer of the Year: C.J. Boothe

Service recognition for years of service went to:

  • 5 years: D.J. Robertson, Darren Trent and Matt Webster
  • 15 years: Kenny Firestone, Jason Oedel, Adam Coffey and Brad Cutright
  • Life Members recognized were Dean Paderick, Raymond Whitlock, Garry Rock, David Firestone, Greg Sleboda, Scott Paderick, Shawn Ulrich and Chris Rader

The department’s new officers were sworn in by County Administrator Garry Larrowe. They are:

  • Zach Beckner, Fire Chief
  • Scott Paderick, Deputy Chief
  • Dylan Johnson, Captain
  • C.J. Boothe- Captain
  • Collin Smith, Lieutenant
  • Cole Guidry, Lieutenant
  • Jonathan Simmons, President
  • Kenny Firestone, Vice President
  • Jason Oedel, Secretary
  • Scott Johnson, Treasurer
  • Members at large Matt Orange and Dylan Kiger

A slideshow had a special memorial to Chief Jeff Beckner of Botetourt Fire & EMS (Chief 100), who passed away in June 2016.